Schools participating in Verbattle National Online Debate Competition 2020-21 - Vidyashilp Academy, Bangalore - DAV Public School, Chennai - Chrysalis High, Varthur, Bangalore - Sharnbasveshwar Residential Public School, Gulbarga - Amity International School, Gurugram - Presidency School, Bangalore - Chrysalis High, Yelahanka, Bangalore - Chrysalis High, Bannerghatta, Bangalore - Rotary Central School, Moodbidri - Manipal School, Mangaluru - Essar International School, Surat - St. Theresa School, Mangaluru - Sunbeam English School, Varanasi - Christ Academy, Bangalore - Lawrence High School, Bangalore - DPS East, Bangalore -DPS Bangalore North - DPS Bangalore South - DPS Bangalore Electronics City, Bangalore - SBOA, Chennai Due to impending disruptions expected as part of the resurgence of the Covid Pandemic and the ensuing logistical challenges, we are constrained to postpone the next part of the Verbattle National Online Debate Competition 2021. If things improve before the end of April, in all probability the competition will be restarted from the 3rd of May onwards. However the marks obtained by the teams in the first Skirmish will be announced by 6pm on 21st April. The rest of the protocols will remain as announced. Hope everyone understands and cooperates with Verbattle in these extraordinary and stressful times.If anyone needs any clarification, they may call the helpline - 9886464641 PLEASE NOTE THE FINAL REVISED CALENDAR IN THE REGISTRATION PAGE


national level debate competition

Debate Format

The National Level Competition of Verbattle, with its unique debate format was held for the Academic Years 2018-19 & 2019-20 in Bengaluru. The competition will be a league tournament at the first level, with each team having to compete in not fewer than five debates and up to a maximum of seven debates in case of a tie.

Verbattle National 2019-20 – 27th Nov - 4th Dec 2019 Results:

Winner Jaiveer Sandeep Chabria JTisha Prem Raheja Vidyashilp Academy
Finalist Team 1 Viswajeeth G K Varsha S CS Academy, Erode
Finalist Team 2 Sahil Dhruv Bachu Aarush Bhargav Mahesh Vidyashilp Academy

Verbattle National 2018-19 - 18th Jan - 25th January 2019 Results:

Winner Anirud A.L. Sumedh Chatterjee Chettinad Vidyashram
Finalist Team 1 Dhanushree Jayaraman Sarvan V.S PSBB Millenium School
Finalist Team 2 R.Jassim Khaleel Dhruv Nair SBOA School & Junior College


School students in the age group of 12 to 16 years also studying in a class from 7th to 10th. (All other relevant rules)

Debate Format:

The registered teams will debate with two other unique teams in each debate.

Likewise there will be four to six debates depending on the number of teams participating.

The opposing teams will be randomly selected by permutation and combination.


Debate Statements

The debate statements for the League will be announced on the 15th of January, 2019.

The debate statements for National Skirmish will be announced on 19th January, 2019.

The debate statements for National Combat will be announced the previous night at 9pm.

The debate statements for National Confrontation will be announced 3 hours before the competition.

The National Championship Face Off will be done according to the usual format.

The sample statements can be found on the website. If you do want a list of sample statements please write for a copy of the same to


Winning Team : Rs. Two Lakhs

Finalist Teams(2 Teams) : Rs. Fifty Thousand Each - Best Speaker at Skirmish - Rs. Twenty Thousand.

Winning Team's Mentor: Rs. Twenty Thousand.

Registration Fee:

The fee of Rs 3200 for outstation team includes :

- Participation fee of Rs 1200

- Food & Accommodation for two members of team and one registered mentor. (If there are more teams from one institution a max of two registered mentors will be accommodated for more than one team per institution.)

- Travel from and to the airport/railway station/bus stand in Bengaluru on scheduled dates at stipulated timings.

Accommodation :

Accommodation will be provided in some comfortable facility near the campus.

Any additional mentor/accompanying adult will pay Rs. 2000.

Clean standard A/c rooms close to the venue.

Twin sharing for adults.

Triple sharing and Quad sharing for students.

Food :

For students from Bangalore Schools - Coffee/Tea Lunch and Evening Snack.

For Resident Teams : Breakfast, Tea during break, Lunch, Evening Snack and Dinner. Menu will be announced on 17th January.

Local Travel :

Verbattle would organize pick up drop from Airport / Bus Stand / Railway Station.

Pick up and drop to and fro between Accommodation and Venue for all resident teams.

A tour of the city will be organized for interested students on one of the evenings.

Venue :

Dayanand Sagar Institutions Campus, Kumaraswamy Layout, Bengaluru.

Date : 18th to 25th Jan, 2019.

Note : Please register before January 18th so you do not face any inconvenience with scheduling, food and accommodation.